Skip to page body Home About Us Community Crime Divisions Online Reporting Recruiting Reserves

News

News Review
Click It or Ticket
Using seat belts and child safety seats is the number one best thing you can do to survive a crash
Posted Date: 4/15/2014 11:00 AM

It only takes two seconds to buckle up. Two seconds! And, those two seconds could literally save your life. They will also keep you from getting a ticket and a fine.

Law enforcement agencies throughout California seek out drivers and passengers who don’t buckle up during the “Click It or Ticket” seat belt campaign. No warnings. No excuses. They are prepared to ticket anyone not buckled up - including passengers in the back seat, day and night.

“Click It or Ticket” debuted in California in 2005, and since then the state’s seat belt use rate has increased from 92.5% in 2005 to 95.5% in 2012, representing over 1.5 million more vehicle occupants who have started buckling up.

The minimum ticket cost of an adult seat belt violation in California is $161. When children under age six are not properly secured in a vehicle, the parent or driver can receive “one point” on their driving record, in addition to a ticket of $490 on a first offense. If the parent is not in the car, the driver gets the ticket.

So when you load up the family for a road trip, a trek across town or just driving to school or work, please do so safely – every trip, every time, day and night. Don’t put your own life at risk, or the life of your family or friends. Buckle up.